Fleury Logo

Jean Dubuffet

1901 - 1985

The destiny of Jean Dubuffet, a painter and sculptor born in Le Havre in 1901, remains inseparable from Art brut, a notion he theorised and popularised after the war. Inspired by his interest in unusual art, that of children, madmen and marginalised people, he was the author of an immense and protean body of work that makes him one of the most innovative artists of the twentieth century.

Born into a family of wine merchants, Dubuffet arrived in Paris in 1918 to devote himself to painting. He attended the Académie Julian which he quickly left to settle in his own studio. Discouraged by academism, worried about his own approach, he painted intermittently and continued to earn his living in the wine trade before definitively devoting himself to his art in 1942. Dubuffet made a dramatic entrance onto the artistic scene with the opening of his first solo exhibition at the René Drouin Gallery in Paris on October 20th, 1944. “Completely devoid of any accepted skill of the kind usually found in paintings made by professional painters,” in his own words, the works of this as-yet unknown artist provoked a real scandal. Seeming to violate moral and cultural values, Dubuffet’s art continued to be met with misunderstanding by part of the public, a feeling which has barely dissipated today.

Dubuffet’s approach was serial and consisted of different cycles accompanied by theoretical writings. His practice encompassed many fields: painting, drawing, assemblage, music, sculpture and architecture, with as its central point, a fierce “anti-cultural” dimension – that is, a rejection of any stultifying academicism. This irreverent posture led him to produce a rich, experimental, whimsical and original body of work, unaffiliated to any artistic current. In 1962, he began the most famous and the longest of his cycles, that of the Hourloupe, which occupied him until 1974. It includes several habitable sculptures, such as the Groupe des quatre arbres, created on the request of David Rockfeller for the Chase Manhattan Plaza in New York, or the Closerie Falbala in Périgny-sur-Yerres, which now houses most of the foundation that Dubuffet created in 1973.

Attracted by the art of people living on the margins, Dubuffet gradually acquired a large collection of works which he exhibited in 1947 in the basement of the Drouin gallery, which had become the Foyer de l’Art Brut. Transferred in 1948 to the Parisian pavilion of the Nouvelle Revue française, on loan from the publisher Gaston Gallimard, it took the name of Compagnie de l’Art Brut and captured the interest of many artists and intellectuals including Claude Levi-Strauss, Henri Michaux and Joan Miró. The collection, which includes 5,000 works by more than 130 creators, was finally transferred to Lausanne, where the Collection de l’Art Brut was founded in 1976. In L’Art brut préféré aux arts culturels, a catalogue published to accompany the exhibition held in 1949 at the Drouin Gallery, Dubuffet clarified his definition of Art brut: ““True art is always where you don’t expect it. Where nobody thinks about it or says its name. Art hates to be recognised and hailed by its name…”

Regularly exhibited in Europe and the United States, his work was first exhibited in an institutional retrospective at the Museum of Decorative Arts in 1960, followed by that of WOAgri in New York in 1962. Other important exhibitions followed, culminating with the Venice Biennale in 1983, where France entrusted him with its pavilion. Dubuffet remains the most controversial and admired artist of the second half of the twentieth century. The numerous public collections featuring his work include the Kunstmuseum in Basel, the National Gallery in Berlin, the Tate Modern in London, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, the MET and the MOMA in New York, the Centre Pompidou and the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris.


Read more

“To those for whom the world does not appear to their taste, I advise them not to try to change the world but to change their taste.”

Jean Dubuffet

Jean Dubuffet in his studio, 1964. Photo Max Loreau © Archives Fondation Dubuffet, Paris

Artworks

Jean Dubuffet, Le ravin

1952

Jean Dubuffet, Les lunettes

1966

Art Fairs

News

JEAN DUBUFFET: ARDENT CELEBRATION

February 25, 2022 - August 21, 2022

Musée Guggenheim Bilbao

At the end of World War II, Jean Dubuffet (1901–1985) began exhibiting paintings that defied entrenched artistic values. He rejected principles of decorum and classical beauty, along with pretentions of expertise. Instead, he looked to the commonplace and the unheralded, employing crude materials, mundane subjects, and a style that spurned any outward sign of academic […]

JEAN DUBUFFET: ARDENT CELEBRATION

Jean Dubuffet

December 3, 2021 - June 6, 2022

Fondation Gianadda, Martigny, Switzerland

La magnifique rétrospective Jean Dubuffet présentée à la Fondation Pierre Gianadda, en collaboration avec le Centre Georges-Pompidou à Paris, propose une relecture du travail du grand défenseur de «  l’Art Brut ». Bien qu’il ait, paradoxalement, refusé la culture dominante, les écoles, les courants et les techniques enseignées, son œuvre occupe une place majeure dans le paysage artistique […]

Jean Dubuffet

Pierre Matisse, an Art Dealer in New York

June 11 - October 4, 2021

Musée Matisse Nice

Curated by: Claudine Grammont Hosting a large exhibition devoted to Pierre Matisse, the Musée Matisse revisits the exceptional career of Henri Matisse’s youngest son, a New York art dealer and a key figure of the 20th century art world. For about sixty years, the Pierre Matisse Gallery played a prominent role in the art world: […]

Pierre Matisse, an Art Dealer in New York

Receive news from the gallery

Sign up

Fleury Logo

Jean Dubuffet

1901 - 1985
Le destin de Jean Dubuffet, peintre et sculpteur né au Havre en 1901, reste indissociable de l’art brut, notion qu’il théorise et popularise après-guerre. Intéressé par l’art hors des normes, celui des enfants, des fous et des marginaux, il est l’auteur d’une oeuvre immense et protéiforme qui le place comme l’un des artistes les plus novateurs du XXe siècle.

Né dans une famille de négociants en vin, Dubuffet arrive à Paris en 1918 pour se consacrer à la peinture. Il fréquente l’Académie Julian qu’il quitte rapidement pour s’installer dans son propre atelier. Découragé par les académismes, inquiet de sa propre démarche, il peint par intermittence et continue de vivre du commerce du vin avant de se consacrer définitivement à son art en 1942. Dubuffet fait une entrée fracassante sur la scène artistique en inaugurant sa première exposition personnelle à la galerie René Drouin à Paris, le 20 octobre 1944. « Tout à fait exemptes d’aucun savoir-faire convenu comme on est habitué à le trouver aux tableaux faits par des peintres professionnels », selon ses propres mots, les oeuvres de cet artiste encore inconnu provoquent un véritable scandale. Semblant contrevenir aux valeurs morales et culturelles, l’art de Dubuffet continuera de susciter l’incompréhension d’une partie du public, sentiment à peine dissipé aujourd’hui.

La démarche de Dubuffet est sérielle et se constitue en différents cycles accompagnés d'écrits théoriques. Sa pratique s’ouvre à de nombreux domaines : peinture, dessin, assemblage, musique, sculpture et architecture, avec pour point central, une farouche volonté « anti-culturelle », c’est à dire un rejet de tout académisme sclérosant. Cette posture irrévérencieuse le conduit à produire une oeuvre riche, expérimentale, fantasque et originale, en dehors de tout courant artistique. En 1962 débute le plus célèbre et le plus long de ses cycles, celui de l’Hourloupe, qui l’occupe jusqu’en 1974. Elle compte plusieurs sculptures habitables, comme le Groupe des quatre arbres réalisé à la demande de David Rockfeller pour la Chase Manhattan Plaza à New York, ou la Closerie Falbala à Périgny-sur-Yerres, qui abrite aujourd’hui la majeure partie de la fondation que Dubuffet crée en 1973.

Attiré par l’art des personnes vivant en marge, Dubuffet acquiert progressivement une importante collection d’oeuvres qu’il expose dès 1947 au sous-sol de la galerie Drouin, devenu le Foyer de l’Art Brut. Transférée en 1948 dans le pavillon parisien de la Nouvelle Revue française, prêté par l’éditeur Gaston Gallimard, elle prend le nom de Compagnie de l’Art Brut et suscite l’intérêt de nombreux artistes et intellectuels dont Claude Levi-Strauss, Henri Michaux et Joan Miró. La collection, qui regroupe 5 000 oeuvres de plus de 130 créateurs, est finalement transférée à Lausanne où est fondée en 1976 la Collection de l’Art Brut. Dans L’Art brut préféré aux arts culturels, catalogue publié pour accompagner l’exposition qui se tient en 1949 à la galerie Drouin, Dubuffet précise sa définition de l’Art brut : « le vrai art, il est toujours là où on ne l’attend pas. Là où personne ne pense à lui ni ne prononce son nom. L’art, il déteste d’être reconnu et salué par son nom … »

Régulièrement exposée en Europe et aux États-Unis, son oeuvre est consacrée dès sa première rétrospective institutionnelle au Musée des Arts Décoratifs en 1960, suivie en 1962 par celle du MOMA à New York. D’autres expositions importantes suivront, avec pour point d’orgue la Biennale de Venise en 1983, où la France dédie son pavillon à celui qui reste l’artiste le plus controversé et le plus admiré de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle. Parmi les nombreuses collections publiques possédant des oeuvres de Dubuffet, citons le Kunstmuseum de Bâle, la National Galerie à Berlin, la Tate Modern à Londres, le Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, le MET et le MOMA à New York, le Centre Pompidou et le Musée des Arts Décoratifs à Paris.

Lire plus

“Ceux à qui le monde n'apparaît pas à leur goût, je leur conseille de ne pas tâcher de changer le monde mais de changer leur goût.”

Jean Dubuffet

Oeuvres

Jean Dubuffet, Le ravin

1952

Jean Dubuffet, Les lunettes

1966

Foires

Actualités

Jean Dubuffet

3 décembre 2021 au 6 juin 2022

Fondation Gianadda

La magnifique rétrospective Jean Dubuffet présentée à la Fondation Pierre Gianadda, en collaboration avec le Centre Georges-Pompidou à Paris, propose une relecture du travail du grand défenseur de «  l’Art Brut ». Bien qu’il ait, paradoxalement, refusé la culture dominante, les écoles, les courants et les techniques enseignées, son œuvre occupe une place majeure dans le paysage artistique […]

Jean Dubuffet

PIERRE MATISSE, UN MARCHAND D’ART À NEW YORK

11 Juin - 4 octobre 2021

Musée Matisse Nice

En consacrant une grande exposition à Pierre Matisse, le Musée Matisse revient sur le parcours exceptionnel du plus jeune fils d’Henri Matisse, marchand d’art à New York et figure incontournable du monde de l’art moderne. Pendant près de soixante années, la Pierre Matisse Gallery a joué un rôle considérable pour la défense de l’art moderne […]

PIERRE MATISSE, UN MARCHAND D’ART À NEW YORK