Fleury Logo

Claude Viallat

1936

Claude Viallat is a French painter. Born in Nimes in 1936, he is renowned for his creative process developed on the basis of a unique principle, that of the repetition of a simple, recurrent, immediately recognisable form, developed in series across multiple and unconventional media. Challenging both the medium and the tool, Viallat is celebrated internationally for his pioneering role and his works are featured in many contemporary art collections.

Starting in 1966, Viallat began to repeat a single oblong shape, neither abstract nor figurative, over the entire surface of a canvas detached from its stretcher, according to the all-over technique. Having become his signature, this motif and creative process were part of a radical critique of the informal and geometric art currents, which had been dominant in the artistic landscape since the 1960s.

Viallat uses all kinds of flexible substrates, mostly made of poor materials, from everyday life: industrial tarpaulins, sheets, umbrellas, curtains, jute fabric, shirts. Viallat explains in this regard that “it is the quality of the canvas, of the substrate, which organises both the result and the work, because I manufacture substrates which are very often irregular, with worn fabrics.” Guiding the realisation of the work, these materials, which are sometimes interlinked, each have their own way of reacting to the application of colour. This offers many “surprises” to the artist, whose approach accommodates a degree of chance.

A remarkable colourist, Viallat uses bright colours to represent the shape that made him famous, “the simplest, the most elementary, the most immediate,” which is infinitely repeated across the different substrates. To paint, Viallat stands above the substrate placed on the ground, in the manner of the artists who inspired him: Simon Hantaï, Jackson Pollock, or Sam Francis. Applied to the untreated substrate, this shape determines the composition, which is dominated by a rhythmic search for harmony. Exhibited without a frame, hung or suspended in space, the canvas according to Viallat offers a moving and three-dimensional alternative to the frontality of the traditional painting.

In 1969, with a group of artists from the South of France, including Vincent Bouilès, Daniel Dezeuze and Patrick Saytour, he founded the Supports/Surfaces movement, which aimed to challenge traditional pictorial means, both in terms of substrate, motif, and final object. After several group exhibitions, including one at the Musée d’Art Moderne in Paris in 1969, the group separated in 1972 following several disagreements.

Having taken part in numerous solo and group exhibitions since the mid-1960s, Viallat benefited from a major retrospective at the Centre Pompidou in Paris in 1982. His participation in the Venice Biennale in 1988 for the French Pavilion was the pinnacle of this recognition. His works are included in the most important collections devoted to contemporary art, including those of the Musée d’art moderne de la ville de Paris and MOMA in New York.


Read more

“It is the quality of the canvas, of the substrate, which organises both the result and the work, because I manufacture substrates which are very often irregular, with worn fabrics.”

Claude Viallat

Claude Viallat gives a last brush stroke before completing a piece. Photo Anthony Maurin. ©Objectif Gard.

Artworks

Claude Viallat

2003/173, 2003
Acrylic on tent cloth
177 x 211 cm | 69 5/8 x 83 1/8 in.

Claude Viallat, Sans titre

1986

Claude Viallat, 1985/132

1985

Claude Viallat, Untitled

1981

Claude Viallat, 1985/005

1985

Exhibitions

Receive news from the gallery

Sign up

Fleury Logo

Claude Viallat

1936

Claude Viallat est un peintre français né à Nîmes en 1936, reconnu pour un procédé créatif établi à partir d’un principe unique, celui de la répétition d’une forme simple et récurrente, immédiatement reconnaissable, développée en série sur des supports multiples et non conventionnels. Remettant en question à la fois le support et l’outil, Viallat est célébré internationalement pour son rôle pionnier et ses œuvres figurent parmi de nombreuses collections d’art contemporain.

À partir de l’année 1966, Viallat entreprend de répéter une forme unique oblongue, ni abstraite ni figurative, sur toute la surface d’une toile libérée de son châssis selon la technique du all-over. Devenus sa signature, ce motif et ce procédé créatif s’inscrivent dans une critique radicale des courants de l’art informel et géométrique, dominants dans le paysage artistique dès années 1960.

Viallat utilise toute sorte de supports souples, pauvres pour la plupart, issus de la vie quotidienne : bâches industrielles, draps, parasols, rideaux, toiles de jute, chemises. Viallat précise à ce sujet que « c’est la qualité de la toile, du support qui va organiser à la fois le résultat et le travail parce que je fabrique des supports qui sont très souvent irréguliers, avec des tissus usés. » Guidant la réalisation de l’œuvre, ces matériaux, parfois reliés ensemble, ont chacun leur manière propre de réagir à l’application de la couleur. Cela offre de multiples « surprises » à l’artiste qui intègre le hasard à sa démarche.

Coloriste remarquable, Viallat utilise la couleur vive pour appliquer la forme qui l’a rendu célèbre, « la plus simple, la plus élémentaire, la plus immédiate qui soit », déclinée à l’infini au fil des supports. Pour peindre, Viallat se tient au-dessus du support posé à même le sol, se rapprochant d’artistes qui ont été sources d’inspiration : Simon Hantaï, Jackson Pollock ou Sam Francis. Appliqué à même le support non préparé, ce motif détermine la composition dominée par une recherche rythmique d’harmonie. Exposée sans châssis, accrochée ou suspendue dans l’espace, la toile selon Viallat offre une alternative mouvante et tridimensionnelle à la frontalité traditionnelle de la peinture.

En 1969, il fonde avec un groupes d’artistes originaires du sud de la France, dont Vincent Bouilès, Daniel Dezeuze et Patrick Saytour, le mouvement Supports/Surfaces qui entend remettre en question les moyens picturaux traditionnels, aussi bien du point de vue du support, du motif que de l’objet final. Après plusieurs expositions collectives, dont celle au Musée d’Art Moderne de Paris en 1969, le groupe se sépare en 1972 à la suite de plusieurs dissensions.

Participant à de nombreuses expositions personnelles et collectives dès le milieu des années 1960, Viallat bénéfice d’une importante rétrospective au Centre Pompidou à Paris en 1982. Sa participation à la Biennale de Venise en 1988 au sein du Pavillon français constitue le point culminant de cette reconnaissance. Ses œuvres ont ainsi progressivement intégré les plus importantes collections dédiées à l’art contemporain dont celles du Musée d’art moderne de la ville de Paris et du MOMA à New-York.


Lire plus

“C'est la qualité de la toile, du support qui va organiser à la fois le résultat et le travail parce que je fabrique des supports qui sont très souvent irréguliers, avec des tissus usés.”

Claude Viallat

Claude Viallat donne un dernier coup de pinceau avant de terminer une oeuvre. Photo Anthony Maurin. ©Objectif Gard.

Oeuvres

Claude Viallat

2003/173, 2003
Acrylique sur toile de tente
177 x 211 cm | 69 5/8 x 83 1/8 in.

Claude Viallat, Sans titre

1986

Claude Viallat, 1985/132

1985

Claude Viallat, Sans titre

1981

Claude Viallat, 1985/005

1985

Expositions

Recevoir les actualités de la galerie

S'inscrire