Fleury Logo

Victor Vasarely

1906-1997

Victor Vasarely, a French painter of Hungarian origin, is recognised as the father of optico-kinetic art for his invention, at the turn of the 1950s, of new methods of artistic conception and diffusion. By developing a new visual alphabet made up of simple geometric shapes and pure colours combined, Vasarely designed an art that plays with our visual perceptions, a popular art, accessible to all.

Born in Pécs, Hungary in 1906, Vasarely enrolled at the Budapest Medical School in 1925. He did not stay there long, but maintained a love of science and method. Over the course of his first jobs, including as a cartoonist for advertising inserts, he was taught by Sandor Bortnyik, the founder of the Mühely school on the model of the Bauhaus, discovering constructivist theories, abstract research and techniques of graphic design, which were to have a considerable impact on his future work.

Vasarely moved to Paris in 1930, where he worked as a graphic designer in advertising agencies to earn a living, enabling him to continue his visual research. It was only after the war, in parallel with the establishment of a gallery on Rue La Boétie with Denise René, that Vasarely intensified his own artistic practice. “To express my ideas-feelings, to communicate my ideological option […] I had to create,” he later confessed. During the years in which gestural abstraction emerged, Vasarely distinguished himself by the progressive development of a kinetic language. It was the period of the Belles Isles and Cristal-Gordes, composed of abstract forms inspired by nature, and large coloured and contrasting planes, which prefigured the series to come.

In 1952, Vasarely signed a Hommage à Malevitch. Drawing from Russian painter’s black square on a white background, Vasarely created a construction of squares and lozenges in shades of grey, white and black, introducing a moving illusionist space that mobilises the viewer’s perceptual faculties. Kineticism was born, which Vasarely summarised in these words: “For me, the kinetism is what happens in the mind of the spectator when his eye is obliged to organise a perceptive field such as it is necessarily unstable.” During this period of creative enthusiasm, Vasarely designed the collective exhibition “Le movement” in 1955, now considered to be the birth certificate of kineticism. Ten years later, the exhibition “The Responsive Eye” was held at WOAgri in New York and introduced the term “Op art,” of which Vasarely is internationally recognised to be the founder.

Beginning in the 1960s, Vasarely established his visual alphabet, a genuine aesthetic project consisting of a limited number of simple geometric shapes and pure colours, the “visual units.” Associated with a perfect mastery of the chosen materials, they offer an almost infinite number of combinations. Several periods followed, from “Planetary Folklore” to “Hommage to the Hexagone,” based on the scientific laws of optics and combinatorial programming.

Vasarely’s art, which gives the illusion of movement without ever really creating it, spread widely and met with huge popular success, a phenomenon sufficiently rare to be reported. He thereby succeeded in bringing to fruition an idea dating from the beginning of the century amongst certain abstract artists, notably the heirs of the Bauhaus and those related to geometric abstraction: to identify a method capable of creating a visual language of universal scope, a total art capable of integrating into the city.


Read more

“The crucial moment in each artist’s career is his transmutation from 'receiver' to 'transmitter': he then becomes a creator, an extremely rare being, discovering his role which consists in giving.”

Victor Vasarely

Artworks

Victor Vasarely, ARA

1977

Victor Vasarely, Horna

1957/1987

Exhibitions

Art Fairs

Publications

Receive news from the gallery

Sign up

Fleury Logo

Victor Vasarely

1906-1997

Victor Vasarely, peintre français d’origine hongroise, est reconnu comme le père de l’art optico-cinétique pour l’invention, au tournant des années 1950, de nouveaux modes de conception et de diffusion de l’art. En mettant au point un nouvel alphabet plastique constitué de formes géométriques simples et de couleurs pures combinées entre elles, Vasarely a conçu un art jouant de nos perceptions visuelles, un art populaire à la portée de tous.

Né à Pécs en Hongrie en 1906, Vasarely s’inscrit en 1925 à la faculté de médecine de Budapest. Il n’y restera pas longtemps mais conservera toujours un amour des sciences et de la méthode. Au fil de ses premiers métiers, dont celui de dessinateur d’encarts publicitaires, il reçoit l’enseignement de Sandor Bortnyik, fondateur de l’école Mühely sur le modèle du Bauhaus, où il découvre les théories constructivistes, les recherches abstraites et les techniques du graphisme, qui auront un impact considérable sur son oeuvre future.
Vasarely s’installe à Paris en 1930 où, pour gagner sa vie, il travaille comme graphiste dans des agences publicitaires, ce qui lui permet de poursuivre ses recherches plastiques. Ce n’est qu’après-guerre, en parallèle de la fondation d’une galerie rue La Boétie avec Denise René, que Vasarely intensifie sa propre pratique artistique. « Pour exprimer mes idées-sensations, pour manifester mon option idéologique […] il fallait que je crée » confessa-t-il plus tard. Dans ces années qui voient émerger l’abstraction gestuelle, Vasarely se distingue par l’établissement progressif du langage cinétique. C’est la période Belles Isles ou Cristal-Gordes composées de formes abstraites, inspirées de la nature, et de grands aplats colorés et contrastés, qui annoncent les séries à venir.

En 1952, Vasarely signe un Hommage à Malevitch. Repartant du carré noir sur fond blanc du peintre russe, Vasarely établit une construction de carrés et losanges dans des dégradés de gris, blancs et noirs, et introduit un espace illusionniste en mouvement qui sollicite les facultés de perception du spectateur. Le cinétisme est né et Vasarely le résume en ces termes : « Pour moi, le cinétisme est ce qui se passe dans l’esprit du spectateur quand son œil est obligé d’organiser un champ perceptif tel qu’il est nécessairement instable ». Dans cette période d’enthousiasme créatif, Vasarely conçoit en 1955 l’exposition collective « Le mouvement », considérée aujourd’hui comme l’acte de naissance du cinétisme. Dix ans plus tard, l’exposition « The Responsive Eye » se tient au MOMA à New-York et introduit le terme « Op art », dont Vasarely est internationalement reconnu comme le fondateur.

À partir des années 1960, Vasarely établit son alphabet visuel, une véritable esthétique constituée d’un nombre restreint de formes géométriques simples et de couleurs pures, les « unités plastiques ». Associées entre elles dans une parfaite maîtrise des matériaux choisis, elles offrent un nombre presque infini de combinaisons. Plusieurs périodes se succèdent, du Folklore planétaire à Hommage à l’hexagone, chacune se fondant sur les lois scientifiques de l’optique et une programmation combinatoire.

L’art de Vasarely, qui donne l’illusion du mouvement sans jamais le créer vraiment, se diffuse alors largement et rencontre un immense succès populaire, phénomène suffisamment rare pour être signalé. Il parvient ainsi à faire aboutir une idée datant du début du siècle chez certains artistes abstraits, notamment les héritiers du Bauhaus et ceux liés à l’abstraction géométrique : dégager une méthode capable de créer un langage plastique à portée universelle, un art total capable de s’intégrer dans la cité.


Lire plus

“Le moment crucial de chaque artiste est sa transmutation « d'être récepteur » en « être émetteur » : là, il devient créateur, être rarissime découvrant son rôle qui consiste à donner.”

Victor Vasarely

Oeuvres

Victor Vasarely, ARA

1977

Victor Vasarely, Horna

1957/1987

Expositions

Foires

Publications

Recevoir les actualités de la galerie

S'inscrire