Fleury Logo

Judit Reigl

1923-2020

Judit Reigl, a painter of Hungarian origin born in 1923 in Kapuvar, fled her country to Paris to become one of the few women to be recognised on the artistic scene after the war. Faithful to a spirit of freedom and carried by a powerful energy in motion, Reigl produced personal work where the questions of the body and the human condition are central.

After studying at the Academy of Fine Arts in Budapest, Judit Reigl managed to cross the Iron Curtain and moved to Paris in June 1950. There she met her friend and compatriot Simon Hantaï who introduced her to André Breton, the leader of the Surrealist movement, in 1954, to whom she gave one of her first paintings, Ils ont soif de l’infini (1950), an anguished vision populated by zoomorphic creatures on the run. Seduced by the young painter’s talent, Breton invited her to exhibit at the Galerie de l’Étoile Scellée a few months later and wrote the preface to the catalogue. The works she presented there renounced figuration: always attracted by automatic writing but seeking to take it to its utmost limits, Reigl set out to conquer a new expressive territory, that of a total abandonment of body and mind. “My whole body contributes to the work, ‘with open arms.’ It is with gestures that I write pulsations, impulses, in the given space.”

Over the course of her many series, a coherent path took shape which, despite the many evolutions and the back-and-forth between abstraction and figuration, is marked by an intense gestuality. Reigl painted most often by moving quickly around canvases placed on the ground and intensely engaged her body. Several series were born: those of the Éclatements (1955 – 1958) and of Centres de dominance (1958 – 1959), which brought her closer to Georges Mathieu, with whom she exhibited during these years, then that of the Guano (1958 – 1959), developed on the basis of the failed canvases littering the floor of the studio, covered in paint drips, walked over by the artist who reworked them afterwards.

From 1966, Reigl introduced the human figure into her painting. It appears and disappears through several series such as Homme (1966 – 1972), Drap (1973), Un corps au pluriel (1990 – 1992) or Hors (1993 – 1999). Bodies, most often male, reduced to their simplest expression, devoid of any spatial or temporal context, are represented levitating over the entire surface of the canvas. The human body, as an actor in the gesture and as a subject, therefore remained the anchor of Reigl’s work and of the complex reflection it represents.

Judit Reigl’s career was marked by several important exhibitions: the 1976 exhibition at the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris with the Déroulements and Guano series and the 1986 exhibition at the International Pavilion of the Venice Biennale. Her works have been integrated into the collections of MOMA and the Solomon R. Guggenheim in New York, the Pompidou Centre in Paris and the Tate Modern in London.


Read more

“The body is the most perfect instrument and the most tragic obstacle”

Judit Reigl

Judit Reigl in her studio in Marcoussis. Photo Catherine Panchout - Corbis. Courtesy Sygma via Getty images.

Artworks

Judit Reigl

HOMME (fragment), 1969
Oil on canvas, mounted on canvas
30 x 24 cm | 11 3/4 x 9 1/2 in.

Art Fairs

Receive news from the gallery

Sign up

Fleury Logo

Judit Reigl

1923-2020
Judit Reigl, peintre d’origine hongroise née en 1923 à Kapuvar, a fuit son pays pour devenir à Paris l’une des rares femmes reconnues sur la scène artistique d’après-guerre. Fidèle à un esprit de liberté et portée par une puissante énergie en mouvement, Reigl a produit une oeuvre personnelle où les questions du corps et de la condition humaine sont centrales.

Après des études à l’Académie des Beaux-Arts de Budapest, Judit Reigl parvient à franchir le rideau de fer et s’installe à Paris en juin 1950. Elle y retrouve son ami et compatriote Simon Hantaï qui lui présente André Breton en 1954, chef de fil du mouvement surréaliste, à qui elle offre une de ses premières toiles, « Ils ont soif de l’infini » (1950), vision angoissée peuplée de créatures zoomorphes en fuite. Séduit par le talent de la jeune peintre, Breton l’invite à exposer à la galerie de l’Étoile Scellée quelques mois plus tard et rédige la préface du catalogue. Les oeuvres qu’elle y présente ont alors renoncé à la figuration : toujours attirée par l’écriture automatique mais cherchant à l’emmener dans ses ultimes limites, Reigl investit un nouveau territoire expressif, celui d’un abandon total du corps et de l’esprit. « Tout mon corps participe au travail, 'à la mesure des bras grands ouverts'. C'est avec des gestes que j'écris dans l'espace donné, des pulsations, des pulsions. » précise-t-elle.

Au fil de ses multiples séries se dessine un parcours cohérent qui, malgré les multiples évolutions et les allers-retours entre abstraction et figuration, est marqué par une intense gestualité. Reigl peint le plus souvent en se déplaçant rapidement autour de toiles posées par terre et engage intensément son corps. Plusieurs séries voient ainsi le jour : celles des Éclatements (1955 - 1958) et de Centres de dominance (1958 - 1959), qui la rapprochent de Georges Mathieu avec qui elle expose ces années-là, puis celle des Guano (1958 - 1959), élaborée à partir des toiles ratées jonchant le sol de l’atelier, recevant les coulures de peinture, et foulées par l’artiste qui les retravaillent par la suite.

A partir de 1966, Reigl introduit la figure humaine dans sa peinture. Elle apparaît et disparaît au gré de plusieurs séries comme Homme (1966 - 1972), Drap (1973), Un corps au pluriel (1990 - 1992) ou Hors (1993 - 1999). Des corps, le plus souvent masculins, réduits à leur plus simple expression, hors de tout contexte de lieu ou de temporalité, sont représentés en lévitation sur toute la surface de la toile. Le corps humain, comme acteur du geste et comme sujet, reste ainsi le point d’encrage de l’oeuvre de Reigl et de la réflexion complexe qu’elle porte.

Le parcours de Judit Reigl a été jalonné d’expositions importantes : celle de 1976 au Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris rassemblant les séries Déroulements et Guano ou celle de 1986 au Pavillon International de la Biennale de Venise. Ses oeuvres ont intégré les collections du MOMA et du Solomon R. Guggenheim à New-York, du Centre Pompidou à Paris ou de la Tate Modern à Londres.

Lire plus

“Le corps est le plus parfait instrument et le plus tragique obstacle”

Judit Reigl

Judit Reigl dans son atelier à Marcoussis. Photo Catherine Panchout - Corbis. Courtesy Sygma via Getty images.

Oeuvres

Judit Reigl

Sans Titre (Serie Homme), 1969
Huile sur toile montée sur toile
30 x 24 cm | 11 3/4 x 9 1/2 in.