Fleury Logo

Lynn Chadwick

1914 - 2013

Lynn Chadwick was a key figure in twentieth-century British sculpture, alongside Henri Moore and Barbara Hepworth. He achieved immense post-war success by developing an art between abstraction and figuration, a formal language made of geometric shapes, and populated with objects, human figures and mysterious animals.

Born in 1914 in Barnes, Chadwick studied at the Merchant Taylors school in London and worked as a draughtsman in several architectural firms until 1939. The influence of this first activity is perceptible on the sculpture he began to produce at the end of the war, which is particularly built and structured, multiplying the allusions to modernist architecture.

Chadwick’s first sculptures were mobiles made of wood and aluminum wire that moved freely with the wind. He presented them in his first solo exhibition at the Gimpel Fils gallery in London in 1950, which met with critical success and encouraged him to continue his research. Having learned to weld, Chadwick began to create multi-faceted metal frames that he filled with stolit, a composite material made of plaster and iron filings. These models were used to cast bronze sculptures painted in black or patinated to reproduce the colour of the stolit. The rough aspect of the bronze and the network of visible lines take the appearance of a skin preserving the memory of the armature, a sort of skeleton which preceded its realisation. Later, when the very physical work of welding and applying the stolit became too difficult, Chadwick discovered polished steel. He subsequently made sculptures with pure and smooth shapes, making full use of the possibilities of light play offered by this new material.

Chadwick gave shape to disturbing, angular beings, simultaneously men, birds and praying mantises. His work bears witness to the torture and anguish experienced during the Second World War (the critic Herbert Read speaks of “the geometry of fear”). He took “Man as the starting point” and executed great bronze characters, sitting, standing or walking. Their closed faces are formed by a triangle when they are female and an oblong when they are male. In the 60s, he became interested in ready-mades and presented abstract figures: groups of colourful pyramids made of wood and Formica. From 1980, he began to synthesise these two cycles.

Chadwick won the sculpture prize at the Venice Biennale in 1956, beating the favourite, Alberto Giacometti. At the time, he was the youngest artist to have been awarded this distinction, which paved the way for international recognition. In 1964, he was appointed a Commander of the British Empire. His successes led to numerous public commissions that allowed him to express himself on a large scale. In order to oversee the production of his works, Chadwick opened his own foundry in the early 1970s at Lypiatt Park, his residence in Gloucestershire.

A major retrospective at the Tate Britain in 2003-2004 showcased the originality of Chadwick’s production, whose works are part of the major collections of modern art, including MOMA in New York, Tate Modern in London and the Pompidou Centre in Paris.


Read more

“It seems to me that art must be the manifestation of some vital force coming from the dark, caught by the imagination and translated by the artist’s ability and skill. Whatever the final shape, the force behind is… indivisible. When we philosophise upon this force, we lose sight of it. The intellect alone is still too clumsy to grasp it.”

Lynn Chadwick

Nico Koster - Lynn Chadwick in his studio in Chalford, 1988 ©Nico Koster

Lynn Chadwick exhibits at the British pavilion, XXVIIIth Venice Biennale, 1956, showing Chadwick, Archivio Storico delle Art

Lynn Chadwick took part in his first Venice Biennale at the British pavilion in 1952. In 1956, at the age of 42, the sculptor returned to the Venice Biennale where he presented 19 sculptures and 24 drawings. On this occasion, he received the International Sculpture Prize. He remains the youngest sculptor to have won this distinction. It was during this event that Chadwick and his contemporaries presented their new style of sculpture using iron structures and scrap constructions that emphasise lines and shapes.

“Chadwick was one of the revelations of the Biennale. Notwithstanding the distinguished and very original quality of his imagination, one is foremost impressed by the beauty and sensitivity of the execution.”

Alan Bowness, in D. Farr, L.Chadwick, London, 2003, p. 44

Lynn Chadwick welding in his studio. © Photography by David Farrell

Artworks

Lynn Chadwick, Walking cloaked Figures VI

1980

Lynn Chadwick, Watcher V

1960

Art Fairs

Receive news from the gallery

Sign up

Fleury Logo

Lynn Chadwick

1914 - 2013

Lynn Chadwick est une figure essentielle de la sculpture britannique du XXe siècle aux côtés d’Henri Moore ou Barbara Hepworth. Il connaît un immense succès après-guerre en développant un art entre abstraction et figuration, un langage formel fait de formes géométriques, et peuplé d’objets, de figures humaines et d’animaux mystérieux.

Né en 1914 à Barnes, Chadwick étudie à la Merchant Taylors school à Londres puis devient dessinateur dans plusieurs cabinets d’architecture jusqu’en 1939. L’influence de cette première activité est perceptible sur la sculpture qu’il commence à pratiquer au sortir de la guerre, particulièrement construite et structurée, multipliant les allusions à l’architecture moderniste.

Les premières sculptures de Chadwick sont des mobiles réalisés en bois et fil d’aluminium se déplaçant librement au gré du vent. Il les présente dès sa première exposition personnelle à la galerie Gimpel Fils à Londres en 1950, dont le succès critique l’encourage à poursuivre ses recherches. Ayant appris à souder, Chadwick commence à créer des armatures métalliques à multiples facettes qu’il remplit de stolit, un matériau composite fait de plâtre et de limaille de fer. Ces modèles servent à la fonte de sculptures en bronze peintes en noir ou patinées pour reproduire la couleur du stolit. L’aspect rugueux du bronze et le réseau de lignes apparentes prennent l’aspect d’une peau conservant le souvenir de l’armature, sorte de squelette, qui a précédé sa réalisation. Plus tardivement, Chadwick découvre l’acier poli lorsque le travail très physique de soudage et d’application du stolit devient trop difficile. Il réalise alors des sculptures aux formes pures et lisses, utilisant pleinement les possibilités de jeux de lumière offertes par ce nouveau matériau.

Chadwick donne naissance à des êtres inquiétants, anguleux, à la fois hommes, oiseaux et mantes religieuses. Son travail témoigne des tortures et des angoisses ressenties pendant la seconde guerre mondiale (le critique Herbert Read parle de «géométrie de la peur»). Il reprend «l’homme comme point de départ» et exécute de grands personnages en bronze assis, debout ou marchant. Leur visage clos est formé par un triangle lorsqu’ils sont féminins et oblongs lorsqu’ils sont masculins. Dans les années soixante, il s’intéresse aux ready-made et présente des figures abstraites : des groupes de pyramides colorées, en bois et Formica. À partir de 1980, il opère la synthèse de ces deux cycles.

Chadwick remporte le prix de la sculpture à la Biennale de Venise en 1956, devant le favori Alberto Giacometti. Il est alors le plus jeune artiste à remporter cette distinction qui lui ouvre la voie de la reconnaissance internationale. En 1964, Il est fait compagnon de l’empire britannique. Ses succès lui apportent de nombreuses commandes publiques qui lui permettent de s’exprimer à grande échelle. Afin de contrôler la production de ses œuvres, Chadwick inaugure sa propre fonderie au début des années 1970, à Lypiatt Park, sa résidence du Gloucestershire.

Une grande rétrospective à la Tate Britain en 2003-2004 consacre toute l’originalité de la production de Chadwick, dont les œuvres font partie des grandes collections d’art moderne parmi lesquelles celle du MOMA à New York, de la Tate Modern à Londres et du Centre Pompidou à Paris.


Lire plus

“Il me semble que l’art doit être la manifestation d’une force vitale surgie de l’obscurité, attrapée par l’imagination et traduite par le savoir-faire de l’artiste… Quelle que soit la forme finale, la force qui est derrière est… indivisible. Quand on philosophe sur cette force, on la perd de vue. L’intellectuel seul est trop maladroit pour la saisir. ”

Lynn Chadwick

Nico Koster - Lynn Chadwick dans son atelier à Chalford, 1988 ©Nico Koster

Lynn Chadwick expose au Pavilion britannique, XXVIIIe Biennale de Venise, 1956, expo Chadwick, Archivio Storico delle Art

Lynn Chadwick participe à sa première Biennale de Venise au pavillon britannique en 1952. En 1956, à 42 ans, le sculpteur est de retour à la Biennale de Venise où il présente 19 sculptures et 24 dessins. Il reçoit à cette occasion le Prix international de sculpture. Il reste le plus jeune sculpteur à avoir remporté cette distinction. C’est lors de cet événement que Chadwick et ses contemporains présentent leur nouveau style de sculpture en utilisant des structures en fer et des constructions en ferraille qui soulignent les lignes et les formes.

“Chadwick a été l'une des révélations de la Biennale. Indépendamment de la qualité distinguée et très originale de son imagination, c'est la beauté et la sensibilité de l'exécution qui impressionnent.”

Alan Bowness, dans D. Farr, L. Chadwick, Londres, 2003, p. 44

Lynn Chadwick soudant dans son atelier. © Photographie par David Farrell

Oeuvres

Lynn Chadwick, Walking cloaked Figures VI

1980

Lynn Chadwick, Watcher V

1960

Foires

Recevoir les actualités de la galerie

S'inscrire