Fleury Logo

Born in Città di Castello in Italy, Alberto Burri (1915 – 1995) was one of the greatest artists of European informal art. After his beginnings in 1945, Burri turned to abstraction (1948), using unconventional materials. He took part in the XXVI Venice Biennale (1952) and, in 1953, was the only Italian to take part in the Younger European Painters exhibition at the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York, organised by James Johnson Sweeney. He also took part in several documentas in Kassel (1959, 1964, 1982).

Burri is considered to be one of the contemporary artists to have overturned pictorial conventions. He focuses on construction and moved towards the use of ordinary and poor materials such as burlap bags, plastic, wood, sand or tar. Burri integrated these components into his creations by means of various actions: collages, lacerations and combustions. At this point, the visual artist entered a new creative phase: he modelled the effects of these reactions and became the master of the game, so to speak, by controlling the process of passing from one materiality to another.

In 1978, Alberto Burri created the Fondation Palazzo Albizzini “Collezione Burri,” composed of two large buildings, the Palazzo Albizzini and the Ex Seccatoi del Tabacco, in Città di Castello, Umbria. In 2017, the Burri Foundation inaugurated a new floor in the drying sheds of the old tobacco factory (Ex Seccatoi del Tabacco), devoted to the graphic repertoire.

Famous for his tireless research into unconventional processes and materials, Alberto Burri approached graphic design techniques as a laboratory, a new field of experimentation. Grafica, which is an integral part of his creative process, preceded, followed, and was sometimes simultaneous with his production of visual works, notably his paintings. Created in small series, it reveals the artist’s extraordinary manual skills, and his capacity for constant experimentation. The series embody the graphic translation of his research into matter.


Read more

Alberto Burri working in his studio, Case Nove di Morra, c.1973, Città di Castello. © Fondazione Palazzo Albizzini Collezione Burri.

“Our stability is only balance, and our knowledge resides in a masterful control of the unexpected.”

Robert Bridges

Artworks

Alberto Burri

Cretto Bianco, 1971
Etching and aquatint on Fabriano Rosaspina paper.
67 x 96,4 cm | 26 3/8 x 38 in.

Alberto Burri, Cretto Nero D

1971

Alberto Burri, Cretto G

1971

Alberto Burri, Multiplex 8

1981

Alberto Burri, Multiplex 6

1981

Alberto Burri, Cellotex 3

1992

Alberto Burri, Cellotex 6

1992

Alberto Burri, Monotex 5

1994

Alberto Burri, Monotex 7

1994

Exhibitions

Art Fairs

Publications

Receive news from the gallery

Sign up

Fleury Logo
Né à Città di Castello en Italie, Alberto Burri (1915 - 1995) est l’un des plus grands artistes plasticiens de l’art informel européen. Après ses débuts en 1945, Burri oriente son parcours vers l’abstraction (1948), utilisant des matériaux non conventionnels. Il participe à la XXVIe Biennale de Venise (1952) et, en 1953, il est le seul italien à participer à l’exposition Younger European Painters au musée Solomon R. Guggenheim à New York, sous l’impulsion de James Johnson Sweeney. Il participe également à plusieurs documenta à Kassel (1959, 1964, 1982).

Burri est considéré comme un des artistes contemporains ayant bouleversé les conventions picturales. Il se concentre sur le constructif et se dirige vers l’utilisation des matériaux usuels et pauvres tels que les sacs en toile de jute, le plastique, le bois, le sable ou encore le goudron. Burri intègre ces composants dans ses créations par diverses actions : collages, lacérations et combustions. À cet instant, le plasticien entre dans une nouvelle phase créative : il modèle les effets de ces réactions et devient en quelque sorte le maître du jeu en contrôlant le processus de passage d’une matérialité à une autre.

En 1978, Alberto Burri crée la Fondation Palazzo Albizzini « Collezione Burri », composée de deux grands bâtiments, le Palazzo Albizzini et l’Ex Seccatoi del Tabacco, à Città di Castello, en Ombrie. En 2017, la Fondation Burri inaugure un nouvel étage dans les hangars de séchage de l’ancienne manufacture de tabac (Ex Seccatoi del Tabacco), dédié au répertoire graphique.

Célèbre pour ses recherches incessantes sur les procédés et les matériaux non conventionnels, Alberto Burri aborde les techniques de création graphique comme un laboratoire, un nouveau terrain d’expérimentations. La Grafica, qui fait intégralement partie de son processus créatif, précède, suit et est parfois simultanée de sa production d’œuvres plastiques, notamment ses peintures. Exécutée en petites séries, elle révèle les extraordinaires compétences manuelles de l’artiste et son aptitude à l’expérimentation constante. Elle incarne la traduction graphique de ses recherches sur la matière.

Lire plus

Alberto Burri travaillant dans son atelier, Case Nove di Morra, c.1973, Città di Castello. © Fondazione Palazzo Albizzini Collezione Burri.

“Notre stabilité est seulement de l’équilibre et notre savoir demeure dans le contrôle magistral de l’imprévu.”

Robert Bridges

Oeuvres

Alberto Burri

Cretto Bianco, 1971
Gravure à l’eau-forte et aquatinte sur papier Fabriano Rosaspina.
67 x 96,4 cm | 26 3/8 x 38 in.

Alberto Burri, Cretto Nero D

1971

Alberto Burri, Cretto G

1971

Alberto Burri, Multiplex 8

1981

Alberto Burri, Multiplex 6

1981

Alberto Burri, Cellotex 3

1992

Alberto Burri, Cellotex 6

1992

Alberto Burri, Monotex 5

1994

Alberto Burri, Monotex 7

1994

Expositions