Fleury Logo

Gérard Schneider

1896 - 1987

The painter Gérard Schneider is internationally recognised as one of the fathers of lyrical abstraction, alongside Pierre Soulages and Hans Hartung. His free and expressive painting occupied a central place within this new abstraction, which emerged in Paris in the immediate post-war period.

Gérard Schneider was born in 1896 in Sainte-Croix, Switzerland. Arriving in Paris at the age of 20, he entered the School of Decorative Arts and then the Beaux-Arts, as part of Cormon’s studio. He exhibited for the first time in 1926 at the Salon d’Automne, presenting a post-impressionist work. This period quickly gave way to new and intensive research. In Paris, in a context of full artistic ferment, Kandinsky revolutionised art through abstraction and the Surrealists opened the doors of the subconscious. Sensitive to these new directions, but attached to his own independence, Schneider embarked in 1932 on the path of abstraction: his palette darkened, black predominated and structured his canvases whose titles abandoned any link with reality. As he described it, abstraction is “the consecration of our inner world. […] The spectator is free to interpret it according to their sensations … in the same way that they would react to a sonata.” (in “Schneider, la liberté du geste”, Michel Ragon in Arts, 1961)

In the immediate post-war period, in the context of full European reconstruction, lyrical abstraction radically imposed itself on the artistic scene. Paris was one of the most important centres, and Schneider was one of the pioneers. It was a period of exhibitions, initially collective, following the one organised in 1946 by the Denise René gallery, which Schneider took part in alongside Dewasne, Deryolle and Hartung, and then solo, after his first appearance at the Lydia Conti gallery in 1947. At the same time, his work was diffused abroad and met with critical acclaim: he took part in the Venice Biennale in 1948, exhibited in the United States, at the Betty Parsons Gallery in New York in 1949, and at “Advancing French Art,” which was held in several museums across the country, but also in South America and Japan.

In a constant desire for renewal, Schneider’s art evolved in the 1960s towards more luminosity, and his palette became enriched with bright yellow, purple, green, red and blinding white. His vehement, powerfully contrasting and calligraphic traces transcribed the painter’s inner self; his liberated, rapid gesture was expressed through a variety of perfectly mastered techniques: oil painting, Chinese ink, pastel, watercolour. From the 1970s onwards, paper became the preferred medium of the painter, whose thirst for expressiveness was never fully quenched.

Gérard Schneider’s works are part of important collections including those of the Centre Pompidou and the Musée d’Art Moderne in Paris, the MOMA in New York, the Phillips Collection in Washington D.C., the Museo d’Arte Moderna in Milan and the Museum of Modern Art in Rio de Janeiro.


Read more

Gérard Schneider, Les Audigers, 1972. Photographer: André Villers © Archives Gérard Schneider

“We must see abstract painting in the same way as we listen to music, feeling the emotional interiority of the work without seeking to identify it with any figurative representation. What is important is not to seeing abstraction, but feeling it. If music touches me, moves me, then I have understood something, I have received something.”

Gérard Schneider

“Lyrical abstraction was foremost incarnated by Schneider as Cubism was incarnated by Picasso.”

Michel Ragon

Artworks

Gérard Schneider

Sans Titre, 1963
Oil on canvas
73 x 92 cm | 28 3/4 x 36 1/4 in.

Gérard Schneider, Sans Titre

1953

Gérard Schneider, Sans Titre

1953

Art Fairs

Receive news from the gallery

Sign up

Fleury Logo

Gérard Schneider

1896 - 1987
Le peintre Gérard Schneider est reconnu internationalement comme l’un des pères de l’abstraction lyrique aux côtés de Pierre Soulages et Hans Hartung. Sa peinture libre et expressive occupe une place centrale au sein de cette abstraction nouvelle qui émerge à Paris dans l’immédiat après-guerre.

Gérard Schneider nait en 1896 à Sainte-Croix en Suisse. Arrivée à Paris à 20 ans, il entre à l’École des Arts Décoratifs puis aux Beaux-Arts dans l’atelier de Cormon. Il expose pour la première fois en 1926 au Salon d’Automne en présentant une oeuvre post-impressionniste. Cette période s’achève vite pour laisser la place à de nouvelles et intenses recherches. Dans ce Paris en plein bouillonnement artistique, Kandinsky révolutionne l’art par l’abstraction et les surréalistes ouvrent les portes de l’inconscient. Sensible à ces nouvelles voies mais attaché à sa propre indépendance, Schneider s’engage dès 1932 sur le chemin de l’abstraction : sa palette s’assombrit, le noir prédomine et structure ses toiles dont les titres abandonnent tout lien avec le réel. Telle qu’il la décrit, l’abstraction est « la consécration de notre monde intérieur. […] Le secteur est libre d’interpréter selon ses sensations …de la même manière qu’il réagirait à une sonate. » (in « Schneider, la liberté du geste », Michel Ragon in Arts, 1961)

Dans l’immédiat après-guerre et dans une Europe en pleine reconstruction, l’abstraction lyrique s’impose sur la scène artistique dans sa radicalité. Paris en est l’un des centres les plus importants et Schneider l’un des pionniers. C’est le temps des expositions, d’abord collectives, à la suite de celle organisée en 1946 par la galerie Denise René, auquel Schneider participe aux côtés de Dewasne, Deryolle et Hartung, ou personnelles, après sa première à la galerie Lydia Conti en 1947. Son oeuvre se diffuse en même temps à l’étranger et reçoit les faveurs de la critique : il participe à la Biennale de Venise en 1948, expose aux États-Unis, à la Betty Parsons Gallery à New York en 1949 et lors de « Advancing French Art » qui se tient dans plusieurs musées du pays, mais aussi en Amérique du Sud ou au Japon.

Dans un désir permanent de renouvellement, l’art de Schneider évolue au cours des années 1960 vers plus de luminosité et sa palette s’enrichit de jaune vif, de violet, de vert, de rouge et de blanc éclatant. Ses tracés véhéments, puissamment contrastés et calligraphiques, transcrivent l’intériorité du peintre ; son geste libéré, rapide, s’exprime à travers une variété de techniques parfaitement maîtrisées : peinture à l’huile, encre de Chine, pastel, aquarelle. À partir des années 1970, le papier devient le support privilégié de Schneider dont la soif d’expressivité ne tarit pas.

Les oeuvres de Gérard Schneider font partie d’importantes collections parmi lesquelles celles du Centre Pompidou et du Musée d’Art Moderne à Paris, du MOMA à New York, de la Phillips Collection à Washington D.C., du Museo d’Arte Moderna à Milan ou du Musée d’Art Moderne à Rio de Janeiro.

Lire plus

Gérard Schneider, Les Audigers, 1972. Photographe : André Villers © Archives Gérard Schneider

“Il faut voir la peinture abstraite comme on écoute la musique, sentir l'intériorité émotionnelle de l'oeuvre sans lui chercher une identification avec une représentation figurative quelconque. Ce qui est important, ce n'est donc pas de voir l'abstrait, c'est de le sentir. Si une musique me touche, m'émeut, alors j'ai compris quelque-chose, j'ai reçu quelque-chose.”

Gérard Schneider

“L’Abstraction lyrique s’est surtout incarnée dans Schneider comme le cubisme dans Picasso. ”

Michel Ragon

Oeuvres

Gérard Schneider

Sans Titre, 1963
Huile sur toile
73 x 92 cm | 28 3/4 x 36 1/4 in.

Gérard Schneider, Sans Titre

1953

Gérard Schneider, Sans Titre

1953