Fleury Logo

Victor Brauner

1903-1966

Victor Brauner was a painter and sculptor, born in 1903 in Patra Neamt, a small town in the Carpathians in Romania. He was an essential figure of Surrealism, a movement he joined in 1932. An active member of the avant-garde in Bucharest during the 1920s, he visited Paris periodically in 1925 before settling there permanently in 1938. It was in Paris that he made the decisive encounters that influenced his subsequent artistic career: Brancusi, Yves Tanguy, Max Ernst, René Char, and of course André Breton, the theoretician and leader of the movement, who praised him and considered him to be “…the leader of a magnificent body of work – by far the most important made in Paris, […] probably the only one that counts.”

From his childhood with a spiritualist father, the young Brauner retained and maintained a pronounced taste for the hidden, mysterious, occult and esoteric worlds, dimensions which intensely stimulated his imagination to better inform his work. The loss of his eye in 1938 made a premonition of his eyeless self-portrait, painted seven years earlier. He subsequently became seized with the conviction that he could see beyond the visible, through a kind of magical thought, which accentuated his aura of great mystery and his status as a “painter-seer.”

Brauner’s world is populated by chimaeras, human beings with hybrid, reinvented bodies, symbolic animals, erotic protuberances, a whole living matter which formed the basis of a language granting access, not to reality, but to its hidden dimensions. This fertile imagination, which was constantly evolving, came to life throughout a wide variety of techniques and media that translated his successive objects of research: paintings on canvas, plaster sculptures, candle drawings, subverted objects.

Offering a cryptic vision of the world, Brauner’s complex and multifaceted work echoes the great upheavals of the twentieth century. It was exhibited in the 1930s in Paris in the context of Surrealist demonstrations or solo exhibitions, following his premiere at the Galerie Pierre in 1934. But Brauner’s recognition was to come after the war. Amongst the important exhibitions, the one at the Maeght Gallery in 1947, where he presented his being-object le Loup-table, represented his break from the Surrealist group. He continued to exhibit in Paris, at the Galerie Pierre Loeb, and at Alexandre Iolas in New York. As a consecration, he was chosen to represent France at the Venice Biennale in 1966, the year of his death.

Brauner’s works are included in major modern art collections: those of the Centre national d’art et de culture Georges-Pompidou in Paris, the Musée d’Art Moderne in Paris, the Peggy Guggenheim Collection in Venice, and the Museum of Modern Art, in New York, the first collection to incorporate one of his works, in 1949.


Read more

Victor Brauner in his studio. Photo Ernst Scheidegger © Foundation Ernst Scheidegger Archives

“Each drawing, each discovery will be an extraordinary unknown place, each painting will be an adventure.”

Victor Brauner, Écrits et correspondances, 1938-1948, C. Morando and S. Patry (éd.), Paris, Centre Pompidou / INHA, 2005

The painter Victor Brauner, an emblematic artist of unusual images, of premonitions and chimaeric figures, was inspired by the primitive arts to express his feelings on canvas. The influence of Egyptian art can clearly be discerned in his work, particularly in his profile portraits representing women with extended gazes. The Hopi Indians and their masks were another major source of inspiration for the artist, who used coloured, geometric motifs in many of his compositions.

Luc Joubert, Victor Brauner's studio in Varengeville, [c. 1966], Fonds Brauner, BRAU 127

Video: directed and staged by Fabrice Maze, ©SevenDoc

Victor Brauner was one of the major figures of the Surrealist movement, and certainly the most enigmatic. He joined the movement in 1933 after definitively settling in France. Over the course of his childhood, two events made a major impression on him.

The first was the passage of Halley’s Comet, which Victor Brauner’s father took to be a sign of the end of the world. The second were the spiritualism sessions organised in the family home, which Victor attended in secret. This magical, superstitious universe would never leave him and would go on to influence his subsequent artistic creation. Victor Brauner borrowed from these various traditions whilst inventing his own mythology, including scultures, objects, paintings, all imbued with an intention. His work invites us to a genuine alchemical initiation to the image.

“Faced with Victor Brauner's current painting, my joy is part of the sacred.”

André Breton

Artworks

Victor Brauner

Moulure modifiée n°3, 1956
Oil on canvas
65 x 54 cm | 25 5/8 x 21 1/4 in.

Victor Brauner, La Vénus Dema

1955

Victor Brauner, Le Matin

1962

Victor Brauner, Personnage

1949

Exhibitions

Art Fairs

News

Surrealism Beyond Borders

October 11, 2021 - January 30, 2022

The Met Museum

A telephone receiver that morphs into a lobster. A miniature train that rushes from a fireplace. These are just a few of the familiar images associated with Surrealism, a revolutionary idea sparked in Paris around 1924 that asserted the unconscious and dreams over the familiar and every day. While Surrealism could generate often poetic and […]

Surrealism Beyond Borders

Victor Brauner

September 18, 2020 - April 25, 2021

Musée d'Art Moderne de Paris

For its exhibition dedicated to that singular Surrealist Victor Brauner (1903–1966), the Musée d’Art Moderne de Paris is publishing a monograph containing over a hundred paintings and drawings, some of them on show for the first time since the last Paris retrospective, at the Musée National d’Art Moderne in 1972. The presentation sequence runs as […]

Victor Brauner

Receive news from the gallery

Sign up

Fleury Logo

Victor Brauner

1903-1966
Peintre et sculpteur, Victor Brauner, né en 1903 à Patra Neamt, petite ville des Carpates en Roumanie, est un acteur essentiel du surréalisme, mouvement auquel il adhère en 1932. Membre actif des avant-gardes à Bucarest durant les années 20, c’est à Paris, ville qu’il visite périodiquement dès 1925 pour s’y installer définitivement en 1938, qu'il fait les rencontres décisives qui marqueront la suite de son parcours artistique : Brancusi, Yves Tanguy, Max Ernst, René Char, et bien sûr André Breton, théoricien et chef de fil du mouvement, qui l’adoube et considère qu’il est « […] à la tête d’une oeuvre magnifique - de loin la plus importante réalisée à Paris, […] sans doute d’ailleurs la seule qui compte. »

De son enfance auprès d’un père féru de spiritisme, le jeune Brauner conserve et entretient un goût profond pour les mondes cachés, mystérieux, occultes, ésotériques, autant de dimensions qui nourrissent intensément son imaginaire pour mieux irriguer son oeuvre. La perte de son oeil en 1938 rend prémonitoire son autoportrait énucléé, peint sept ans auparavant. Naît alors chez lui la conviction qu’il voit delà du visible, par une sorte de pensée magique, ce qui accentue son aura de grand mystique et de « peintre voyant ».

De fait, le monde de Brauner est peuplé de chimères, d’êtres humains aux corps hybrides, réinventés, d’animaux symboliques, de protubérances érotiques, toute une matière vivante qui est pour lui la base d’un langage donnant accès non pas au réel, mais à ses dimensions cachées. Cet imaginaire bouillonnant, en évolution constante, prend vie sur une grande variété de techniques et de supports qui traduisent ses recherches successives: peintures sur toile, sculptures en plâtre, dessins à la bougie, objets détournés.

Offrant une vision cryptique du monde, l’oeuvre complexe et multiple de Brauner fait écho aux grands tourments du XXe siècle. Elle s’expose dès les années 30 à Paris lors des manifestions surréalistes ou d’expositions personnelles, dès sa première à la Galerie Pierre en 1934. Mais c’est après-guerre que le temps de la reconnaissance arrive pour Brauner. Parmi les expositions importantes, celle à la Galerie Maeght en 1947, où il présente son être-objet « le Loup-table », signe son départ du groupe surréaliste. Il continue d’exposer à Paris, à la galerie Pierre Loeb, et chez Alexandre Iolas à New York. En guise de consécration, la France le choisit pour la représenter à la Biennale de Venise en 1966, l’année de sa disparition.

Les oeuvres de Brauner ont intégré les grandes collections d’art moderne : celles du Centre national d’art et de culture Georges-Pompidou, à Paris, du Musée d’Art Moderne de Paris, de la Peggy Guggenheim Collection à Venise, ou du Museum of Modern Art, à New York, première collection à intégrer une de ses oeuvres, en 1949.

Lire plus

“Chaque dessin, chaque découverte sera un extraordinaire lieu inconnu, chaque tableau sera une aventure.”

Victor Brauner, Écrits et correspondances, 1938-1948, C. Morando et S. Patry (éd.), Paris, Centre Pompidou / INHA, 2005

Artiste emblématique des images insolites, des prémonitions et figures chimériques, le peintre Victor Brauner s’inspire des arts primitifs pour exprimer ses sentiments sur la toile. Nous distinguons largement dans ses œuvres l’influence de l’art égyptien, notamment dans ses portraits de profil représentant des femmes au regard étiré. Les Indiens Hopi et leurs masques sont également une grande source d’inspiration pour l’artiste qui utilise les motifs colorés et géométriques dans de nombreuses compositions

Luc Joubert, L’atelier de Victor Brauner à Varengeville, [c. 1966], Fonds Brauner, BRAU 127

Vidéo : Réalisation et mise en scène Fabrice Maze, ©SevenDoc

Victor Brauner est l’une des figures majeures et sans doute la plus énigmatique du mouvement surréaliste auquel il adhèrera en 1933 après son installation définitive en France. Durant son enfance, deux événements majeurs vont le marquer profondément.

Le premier est le passage de la comète de Halley dans lequel le père de V. Brauner y voit le signe de la fin du monde. Le second ce sont des séances de spiritisme organisées dans la demeure familiale auxquelles Victor assiste en cachette. Cet univers magique et superstitieux ne l’abandonnera jamais et imprégnera par la suite sa création artistique. Victor Brauner empruntera à de nombreuses traditions tout en inventant sa propre mythologie où se côtoient des sculptures, objets, peintures, toutes chargées d’une intention. Son oeuvre nous invite à une véritable initiation alchimique de l’image.

“Devant la peinture actuelle de Victor Brauner, ma joie participe du sacré.”

André Breton

Oeuvres

Victor Brauner

Moulure modifiée n°3, 1956
Huile sur toile
65 x 54 cm | 25 5/8 x 21 1/4 in.

Victor Brauner, La Vénus Dema

1955

Victor Brauner, Le Matin

1962

Victor Brauner, Personnage

1949

Expositions

Foires

Actualités

Surrealism Beyond Borders

11 Octobre 2021 - 30 janvier 2022

The Met Museum

A telephone receiver that morphs into a lobster. A miniature train that rushes from a fireplace. These are just a few of the familiar images associated with Surrealism, a revolutionary idea sparked in Paris around 1924 that asserted the unconscious and dreams over the familiar and every day. While Surrealism could generate often poetic and […]

Surrealism Beyond Borders

Victor Brauner l Je suis le rêve, je suis l’inspiration

18 septembre 2020 - 25 Avril 2021

Musée d'Art Moderne de Paris

Le Musée d’Art Moderne de Paris consacre à Victor Brauner (1903-1966), figure singulière du surréalisme, une importante monographie regroupant plus d’une centaine d’œuvres, peintures et dessins, dont certaines montrées en France pour la première fois depuis la dernière rétrospective à Paris au musée national d’art moderne en 1972. Le parcours chronologique de l’exposition permet de […]

Victor Brauner l Je suis le rêve, je suis l’inspiration