Fleury Logo

Les deux amies, 1967

Watercolour and ink on joined papers | 62,9 x 100,8 cm

To celebrate the 100th anniversary of André Breton’s Manifesto of the Surrealists, Brafa Art Fair 2024 is honoring Paul Delvaux (1897-1994), a key figure in Surrealism and one of the most celebrated Belgian artists of the second half of the 20th century.

Contact us about this selection

Paul Delvaux (1897 – 1994)

Les deux amies, 1969
Watercolour and ink on joined papers
62,9 x 100,8 cm

“I would like to paint a fabulous picture in which I would live, in which I could live. When I paint, in truth I am in the whole painting.”

Paul Delvaux

 

A master of dreams, singular and bewitching, Paul Delvaux creates a timeless universe through his unique works. Trained at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Brussels, Delvaux quickly established a symbolist style influenced by post-impressionism. It was not until 1934, when he discovered the work of Chirico, that Delvaux embarked on a new pursuit. At this turning point in his career, Delvaux proclaimed himself a Surrealist.

In his repertoires, we find women, often in the nude, wandering around a tightly framed setting. He references the art of Botticelli in the hieratic poses of his figures, and the suspended gestures and expressions of the works of Munch. Delvaux succeeded in capturing a moment in time, presenting us with a world that is familiar, yet enigmatic and esoteric.

Paul Delvaux | La Vénus endormie, detail | 1944 | Oil on canvas | ©Tate Britain, London

The two-register composition of Les deux amies is dominated by the intertwined female figures in the foreground. The simple lines, finely placed to create shadow and dimension, suggest the artist’s delicate hand caressing the paper and reflect the sensual embrace of the two women. The blue watercolor wash lends a phantasmagorical quality to the scene, reinforcing the hazy, dreamlike atmosphere of the interior.

In the background, a series of windows look out on a black sky contrasting with the ivory skin of the central figures. The simple lighted gas lamp suggests a night scene, but there is no other indication of place or temporality – Delvaux wishes to keep the mystery of his personal world.

The deep look in the dark eyes of one of the characters, signature of Paul Delvaux, anchors us in this universe that exists between dream and reality, fantasy and the ordinary.

“I find something very beautiful, from the point of view of formal values and line, in the contact between female flesh. It may be erotic, but there’s nothing wrong with that. In painting, all feelings become ethereal.”

Paul Delvaux

The theme of the “deux amies” (two female friends) is a recurrent motif in painting. Delvaux’s work echoes this particular painting by Gustave Courbet, which uses the same theme to create allegories of laziness and lust. Reminiscent of his Symbolist beginnings, Delvaux must have been attracted by this painting, which was exhibited at the Petit Palais in 1953. There are similarities between the positions of the bodies on the unmade bed and the deep, dark background.

Beyond the formal references, Delvaux must have been attracted by the hidden double meaning of this painting, which is often found in his own Surrealist works. His scenes present multiple levels of interpretation and encourage the viewer to read between the lines.

Gustave Courbet | Le sommeil (Les deux amies) | 1866 | Oil on canvas | Petit Palais, Paris

Receive news from the gallery

Sign up

Fleury Logo

Les deux amies, 1967

Aquarelle et encre sur papiers joints | 62,9 x 100,8 cm

À l’occasion des 100 ans du Manifeste des Surréalistes édité par André Breton, la Brafa Art Fair 2024 met à l’honneur PAUL DELVAUX (1897-1994) figure incontournable du surréalisme et considéré comme l’un des artistes belges le plus célébré de la seconde moitié du XXème siècle. 

Paul Delvaux (1897 – 1994)

Les deux amies, 1969
Aquarelle et encre sur papiers joints
62,9 x 100,8 cm

« Je voudrais peindre un tableau fabuleux dans lequel je vivrais, dans lequel je pourrais vivre. Lorsque je peins, en vérité je suis dans le tableau tout entier. »

Paul Delvaux

 

Maître du rêve, singulier et envoûtant, Paul Delvaux crée un univers intemporel à travers ses œuvres uniques. Formé à l’Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts à Bruxelles, Delvaux établit rapidement un style symboliste influencé par le post-impressionnisme. Ce n’est qu’en 1934, quand il découvre l’œuvre de Chirico, que Delvaux se lance dans une nouvelle poursuite. Le point tournant de sa carrière, Delvaux se proclame surréaliste.

Dans son répertoire, on y retrouve des femmes, souvent nues, déambulant dans un décor au cadre resserré. Il référence l’art de Botticelli, dans les poses hiératiques de ses figures, et les gestes et expressions suspendus des œuvres de Munch. Delvaux réussit à capturer un moment dans le temps et nous présente un monde familier, mais énigmatique et ésotérique. 

Paul Delvaux | La Vénus endormie, détail | 1944 | Huile sur toile | ©Tate Britain, London

La composition en deux registres de notre œuvre Les deux amies est dominée par les figures féminines entrelacées au premier plan. Les simples lignes finement placées pour créer ombres et dimensions suggèrent la main délicate de l’artiste caressant le papier et reflètent l’étreinte sensuelle des deux femmes. Le lavis d’aquarelle bleu rend un aspect fantasmagorique à cette scène, renforçant ainsi l’atmosphère onirique et brumeuse de cet intérieur.

À l’arrière-plan, une série de fenêtres donnent sur un ciel noir contrastant avec l’ivoire de la peau des figures centrales. La simple lampe à gaz allumée suggère une scène nocturne, mais il n’y a aucune autre indication sur le lieu et la temporalité de cette scène – Delvaux souhaite garder le mystère de son monde personnel. 

Le regard profond dans les yeux noirs d’un des personnages, une signature de Paul Delvaux, nous ancre dans cet univers qui existe entre rêve et réalité, entre le fantasme et l’ordinaire. 

« Je trouve quelque chose de très beau, du point de vue des valeurs formelles et de la ligne, dans le contact entre la chair féminine. C’est peut-être érotique, mais il n’y a rien de mal à cela. En peinture, tous les sentiments deviennent éthérés. »

Paul Delvaux

Le thème des deux amies est un motif récurrent dans la peinture. Celles de Delvaux font écho à cette toile de Gustave Courbet qui reprend ce thème pour en faire des allégories de la paresse et de la luxure. Rappelant ses débuts symbolistes, Delvaux devait être attiré par cette œuvre présentée au petit Palais en 1953. Nous y retrouvons des similitudes envers les positions des corps sur le lit défait et le fond sombre et profond de l’arrière-plan.

Au-delà des références formelles, Delvaux devait se sentir attiré par le double sens caché de cette toile que l’on retrouve beaucoup sur ses propres œuvres surréalistes. Ses sujets présentent multiples niveaux de lectures et encouragent les interprétations pluriels.

Gustave Courbet | Le sommeil (Les deux amies) | 1866 | Huile sur toile | Petit Palais, Paris

Recevoir les actualités de la galerie

S'inscrire